BPC-157 vs KPV

Both are sold as components of the same multi-peptide research blends, which is where this pairing usually comes up: someone reading a blend's label wants to know what each part of it is. They are different classes of molecule, described in separate literatures, and treated differently by regulators.

What this comparison cannot establish

Published properties

Only properties both compounds publish are listed. Every value carries the primary source it came from.

Property BPC-157 KPV
Substance class Synthetic pentadecapeptide. Its sequence is a 15-amino-acid fragment of BPC, a roughly 40 kDa protein isolated from human gastric juice and first described in 1993. BPC-157 as supplied is made by solid-phase synthesis, not isolated from gastric juice; sources that describe the pentadecapeptide itself as "isolated from human gastric juice" are conflating the fragment with the parent protein. source Synthetic tripeptide of lysine, proline and valine. FDA's evaluation states "KPV is reported to be a tripeptide composed of the amino acids lysine (K), proline (P), and valine (V)" and that "It is naturally produced in the body and is a fragment derived from the neuropeptide produced in the pituitary gland called alpha-melanocyte-stimulating hormone (alpha-MSH)". PROVENANCE: FDA's footnote for that second sentence points at a wellness-clinic blog post, not at a published characterisation. The relationship itself is independently documented in the peer-reviewed literature — see the parent_hormone_relationship entry, which carries a primary source. source
Sequence H-Gly-Glu-Pro-Pro-Pro-Gly-Lys-Pro-Ala-Asp-Asp-Ala-Gly-Leu-Val-OH source H-Lys-Pro-Val-OH source
Other names Bepecin; PL-14736; PL-10; PLD-116; Body Protection Compound 157. FDA notes that BPC-157 is a common name and not a United States Adopted Name, and that multiple salts and derivatives, including different active moieties, are sold commercially under that same common name. source KPV is the common name; FDA's abbreviation list expands it as "lysine-proline-valine". FDA states that "KPV is a common name and not a United States Adopted Name (USAN)" and that it "has encountered multiple salts, and derivatives, including different active moieties, sold commercially under the same common name for similarly situated products". FDA also states that inconsistent naming conventions that do not follow INN, IUPAC or USAN standards "represent a safety risk for patients as they may be dosed with a different BDS than the physician ordered". source
Cas number 137525-51-0 source 67727-97-3 source
Unii 8ED8NXK95P source READ THE DISCREPANCY BEFORE USING THIS. FDA's Global Substance Registration System holds an approved record for "L-lysyl-L-prolyl-L-valine" with the UNII 7V6LGD8S5R, CAS 67727-97-3, formula C16H30N4O4 and molecular weight 342.4344, cross-referenced to PubChem CID 125672. Two other FDA surfaces disagree with it. FDA's own 503A evaluation lists the UNII code for both KPV (free base) and KPV acetate as "Not available", and the withdrawn nomination answered "Does the substance have a UNII code? NO". FDA's public UNII lookup at precision.fda.gov returns "The UNII (7V6LGD8S5R) does not exist" for that code as of this entry. The registry record is recorded here with that conflict stated rather than resolved. source
Acetate salt identifiers BPC-157 acetate is a separate substance from BPC-157 (free base), with UNII PAR2FC72XP and CAS 216441-37-1 against the free base's 8ED8NXK95P and 137525-51-0. FDA states the two are different active pharmaceutical ingredients and therefore different bulk drug substances, sharing the same active moiety. Both nomination packages FDA reviewed named one form and attached a certificate of analysis for the other. source KPV acetate is a separate bulk drug substance from KPV (free base) in FDA's analysis, with molecular formula C16H30N4O4.CH3COOH and molecular weight 402.5 g/mol against the free base's C16H30N4O4 and 342.43 g/mol. Neither has a UNII code in FDA's evaluation, and FDA notes that "The CAS number for KPV acetate is the same as that for KPV (free base) in most public references" — so, unlike BPC-157, the CAS number does not separate the two forms here. FDA states the two are different active pharmaceutical ingredients sharing the same active moiety, and that the single nomination it received named one form in the title of its certificate of analysis and a different one by molecular formula. source
Molecular formula C62H98N16O22 source C16H30N4O4 source
Molecular weight 1419.5 g/mol source 342.43 g/mol source
Appearance White to off-white lyophilised powder, stated under FDA's physicochemical characterisation heading for BPC-157 (free base). FDA describes BPC-157 acetate separately as a white to off-white solid powder. source KPV (free base) is described by FDA as a white to off-white lyophilized powder. FDA describes KPV acetate separately as a white to off-white solid powder. source
Solubility Soluble in water at 5 mg/mL. PROVENANCE: FDA states this in its characterisation section for both the free base and the acetate, but footnotes it to supplier product pages rather than to a published measurement. Because the substance is water-soluble and would be solubilised before administration, FDA does not consider particle size a critical quality attribute for the solution dosage forms it reviewed. source Different for the two forms, and both figures are supplier-sourced. FDA states that KPV (free base) "is soluble in water up to 0.70 mg/mL" and that KPV acetate "is reported to dissolve in water at 5 mg/mL". PROVENANCE: FDA's footnotes attribute the free-base figure to a supplier certificate of analysis and the acetate figure to a supplier product page, not to a published measurement. FDA treats the free base's low solubility as a characterisation gap, writing that because the nominator gave no formulation detail it "cannot evaluate how the physical and chemical characteristics, especially limited water solubility (0.7 mg/mL) and particle size, impact the performance of final products". source
Storage READ THE PROVENANCE BEFORE USING THIS. FDA's evaluation reports that lyophilised BPC-157 (free base) is stable at room temperature for three weeks, that it is recommended to be held desiccated below -18 degrees C because exposure to moisture greatly decreases the long-term stability of lyophilised peptides, and that once reconstituted it is stable for two to three weeks at 4 degrees C and for three to four months at -20 degrees C. FDA's own footnotes attribute every one of those figures to supplier product pages, not to a published stability study, and FDA states the conclusion as what is "reported in the literature" rather than as an agency determination. No peer-reviewed forced-degradation or shelf-life study for BPC-157 was located. FDA separately warns that peptides such as this one are extremely sensitive to formulation, process and environmental conditions including pH, temperature, concentration and excipients, which may lead to aggregation and degradation and to loss of biological activity, and that significant amounts of aggregates can form during storage. source READ THE PROVENANCE BEFORE USING THIS. FDA's evaluation reports that lyophilized KPV (free base) "is stable up to 3 years when stored at -20 degrees C in a tightly closed container, up to 2 years at 4 degrees C, and up to 3 months at 15 degrees C", and that on reconstitution "the aqueous solution is recommended to be stored at -80 degrees C for 6 months, at -2 degrees C for 1 month, and 10 degrees C for 1 week". FDA's footnote attributes every one of those figures to a supplier certificate of analysis, not to a published stability study, and FDA states the conclusion as what "is reported" rather than as an agency determination. For KPV acetate, FDA reports a different condition from the nominator's certificate of analysis: "in a sealed container at 2 degrees C to 8 degrees C". There is no United States, European, Japanese or International pharmacopoeial monograph for either form and no approved product label, so no body with standing to determine handling conditions has done so. FDA separately warns that peptides "can be extremely sensitive to product formulation, process, and environmental conditions (e.g., pH, heat (temperature), concentration, in-process related impurities, excipients etc.), which may lead to the aggregation and degradation of peptides", that this "could result in loss of their biological activity", and that significant amounts of aggregates can form during storage. source
Human pharmacokinetics None established. FDA found no human pharmacokinetic data for BPC-157 by the oral, subcutaneous, nasal or transdermal route. In the two published studies that gave BPC-157 as a rectal enema, the authors report that BPC-157 was not detected in plasma samples; in one abstract the authors state that most plasma concentrations were below the lower limit of quantification of the assay, with no further detail given. source None. FDA states it "did not identify clinical studies in humans assessing pharmacokinetics or pharmacodynamics of KPV (free base) or KPV acetate via any route of administration". FDA also states that neither the nominator submitted nor did the agency identify any nonclinical pharmacokinetic or toxicokinetic study of either substance, so there is no animal figure to quote either. source
Approval status Not an approved drug anywhere. FDA states that neither BPC-157 (free base) nor its acetate form is a component of an FDA-approved drug, and that a search identified no approved product containing either substance in any country. source Not an approved drug anywhere. FDA states there is "no applicable United States Pharmacopeia (USP) or National Formulary (NF) drug substance monograph for KPV (free base) or its acetate form, and neither are a component of an FDA-approved drug". FDA adds that a search of the European Pharmacopoeia (11.8 edition, 2025) and the Japanese Pharmacopoeia (18th Edition) found no monograph for either form, and that the European Medicines Agency "did not list any products containing KPV (free base) or KPV acetate that are authorized for use". source
Fda 503a bulks list status Not on the 503A Bulks List. In an evaluation dated 5/11/2026, FDA concluded that a balancing of the statutory criteria weighs against adding BPC-157 (free base) and BPC-157 acetate to that list, and wrote "Accordingly, we propose not adding BPC-157 (free base) or BPC-157 acetate to the 503A Bulks List." FDA's stated grounds were that both substances are not well characterised physicochemically, that there is a lack of information on their safety profile and immunogenicity risk, that the evidence is insufficient to reach a conclusion on effectiveness for the nominated use, and that approved drug products already exist for that condition. source Not on the 503A Bulks List. In an evaluation dated 5/12/2026, FDA concluded that a balancing of the statutory criteria weighs against adding KPV (free base) or KPV acetate to that list, and wrote "Accordingly, we propose not adding KPV (free base) or KPV acetate to the 503A Bulks List." FDA's stated grounds were that both substances are not well-characterised physically and chemically, that the extent of use in compounding is unknown, and that there is "non-existing information on the use of these substances administered in humans to make a conclusion on their clinical safety and effectiveness", alongside the existence of approved therapies for the conditions proposed. source
Fda advisory committee review FDA put BPC-157 (free base) and BPC-157 acetate to its Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee on July 23, 2026, with the published voting questions "Should BPC-157 (free base) be placed on the list?" and "Should BPC-157 acetate be placed on the list?". An advisory committee recommendation does not bind FDA, and as of the date of this entry FDA had not published minutes, a transcript or a vote record for that meeting. source FDA put KPV-related bulk drug substances to its Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee at a meeting held July 23-24, 2026, with the published voting questions "Should KPV (free base) be placed on the list?" and "Should KPV acetate be placed on the list?". The same meeting covered BPC-157, TB-500, MOTS-c, Emideltide, Epitalon and Semax. An advisory committee recommendation does not bind FDA, and as of the date of this entry FDA's meeting page carried briefing documents, the questions, the agenda, the roster and the presentation slides, but no minutes, transcript or vote record. This file therefore does not state how the committee voted. source
Compounding volume reported to fda Zero. FDA reports that according to its outsourcing facility product reporting data from January 2017 to June 2025, there were no reported compounded drug products containing BPC-157 (free base) or BPC-157 acetate. FDA notes separately that compounders operating under section 503A generally do not report to that database, so this figure covers registered outsourcing facilities rather than all compounding. source Zero. FDA reports that according to outsourcing facility product reports submitted to the agency, outsourcing facilities "have not reported preparing single or multiple-API compounded drug products containing KPV (free base) or KPV acetate from January 2017 to June 2025". FDA notes separately that compounders operating under section 503A generally do not report to that database, so this figure covers registered outsourcing facilities rather than all compounding. source
Anti doping status Prohibited. The United States Anti-Doping Agency states "Yes, BPC-157 is prohibited under the S0 Non-Approved Substances category of the List." FDA's evaluation states the same, citing the World Anti-Doping Agency prohibited list. source Not established by any source this file could verify, and deliberately not inferred. No statement from a national or international anti-doping authority naming KPV was retrievable during data entry; the United States Anti-Doping Agency's published prohibited-list page does not name KPV, lysine-proline-valine or alpha-MSH. What was verified is narrower: a 2026 peer-reviewed critical review in a sports medicine journal names KPV among "synthetic fragments" that are "promoted for muscle growth, fat metabolism, recovery, and anti-inflammatory effects" in recreational and professional sport and bodybuilding, and states that clinical evidence supporting peptide use in sport is limited. That review records promotion, not prohibited status. Athletes should ask their own anti-doping authority rather than rely on this entry. source

What the research does not show

What the research does not show about KPV

BPC-157 monograph · Research index · Reading a certificate of analysis